Travel: Madrid in September


I’ve been working my way through some of the images I took last year on my travels. I want to post them all on my blog if for no other reason that it gives me something to look back on in years to come when I’m trapped at home saddled down with a mortgage or something.

So, I’m starting with Madrid. It wasn’t the first place I went to last year, but I had a bit of a heartbreaking hard drive failure with my photos from Lisbon that I’m not quite over yet so I’ve worked on these first.

I travelled here for just a few days with one of my oldest and favouritest friends, Luke. We decided to go because I’d just left my job and he had a week’s holiday coming up. I think we went from “shall we go somewhere?” to booked within about 15 minutes – exactly the kind of thing I love to do.

I had never been to Madrid before, but I’d always wanted to go. I love Spain but had never made it to the capital. I’m also slightly obsessed with collecting every European capital and with cheap flights and cheap accommodation and the promise of a few sunny days, it seemed like the perfect opportunity. I was also keen to see just how very different Madrid is from Barcelona – one of my favourite places to visit.

I loved Madrid and I would very much like to go again. I love the hustle and bustle of a city, and while there’s no huge swathes of water anywhere near by, I didn’t miss that aspect of travelling anywhere near as much as I thought I would. Just a few weeks after this trip I decided to start learning Spanish, so I’ve got plenty of excuse to go back again. I definitely will.

Because of course I never really stop working, I took the opportunity to test out a couple of cameras while I was on this trip, so the images below are taken with the Sony A5100 and the Canon PowerShot SX400, if you’re interested.

There will be a heck of a lot more travel posts coming up soon – including Poland, France, Portugal, Italy, USA and Ireland. Sorry / you’re welcome, depending on your point of view.

As always, any comments, suggestions, viewpoints and more are welcome in the box below. 🙂

 

3 comments

  • Wow looks lovely! I’ve been to a few places in Spain but not visited here yet. Making me want to go more hehe 🙂

  • Oooh churros! I want to come to Madrid again 😦
    When I went there the weather was not so good but I really enjoyed it anyway. Spanish food is just so amazing, and the city is beautiful even when it’s raining. I also went on a free tour with some guys I met on Puerta del Sol – I believe the company was called MADride – to enlighten on Madrid history a little bit, it was so nice!

Submit a comment